CSA, SLC 801-355-2244

CSA Team

Management Team

Susan Horstman, CEO and Co-Founder

Susan began her flight training in Honolulu, Hawaii where she obtained her Private Pilot Certification island hopping. She later attended Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, in Daytona Beach, Florida. There she received her Bachelor of Science in Aeronautical Science. After graduating, Susan began an extensive flight instructing career, during which she managed several flight schools throughout the mid-west. Susan culminated her flight instructing career at Flight Safety International, where she became their Chief Flight Instructor for the Cessna Citation program. Susan then moved into the aircraft manufacturing industry, where she became an experimental flight test engineer on the Cessna Citation jet for Cessna Aircraft Company. Afterwords, Susan was hired by National Airlines and became the company’s first and only female airline pilot. National merged with Pan American World Airways and, once again, Susan became that industry giant’s first female pilot. Upon the bankruptcy of Pan Am, Susan retired from the airline industry, after accruing more than 17,000 hours, in order to spend more time at home raising her son. In 2003, Susan and her son, Christon, founded Cornerstone Aviation. Acting as the active OWNER and CEO, Susan now integrates her vast knowledge and experiences to bring you the best in aviation education.

Christon Horstman, President, CFO and Co-Founder

Christon co-founded Cornerstone Aviation in 2003 with his mother, Susan. After completing both a B.S. in Finance and B.A. in Accounting at nineteen years old, Christon completed his MBA at Westminster College while still only twenty years old. Christon has accrued over 2,500 hours of flight instructing, acting as one of CSA’s senior instructors. Christon specializes in instructing advanced multi-engine, mountain flying, tailwheel and aerobatic students. In 2005, Christon was hired by ExpressJet Airlines (Continental Airline’s regional carrier). Christon upgraded to Captain on the ERJ in 2007, becoming ExpressJet’s youngest Captain at only twenty three years old. Since Christon’s first solo at sixteen years old, he has accrued over 7,000 hours of total flight time.  Christon upgraded to United Airlines in September 2013 and is now flying the Boeing 737.  Christon remains active managing CSA, while still maintaining a full airline flight schedule for United Airlines.  Additionally, to his flying credentials, Christon is the owner of Powderhuffer.com,   an online ski sales company  in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Chriss Horstman, Chief Pilot and Airline Consultant

After transitioning out of the automobile research industry, Chriss began flight instructing at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. At ERAU, Chriss accumulated over 7,000 hours of flight instruction time and graduated with a B.S. degree in Aeronautical Science. Additionally, Chriss met Susan at ERAU and was actually her complex training flight instructor. Chriss and Susan were married shortly after graduation. Chriss soon became a production test pilot for Beech Aircraft, working in the multi-engine division, eventually becoming the supervisor of flight operations at their Salina, Kansas division. Chriss then worked for Lear Jet as a production test pilot. Later he moved over to Cessna Aircraft Company as a multi-engine/jet test pilot. Chriss and Susan moved to Florida where he took a Captain position for Marco Island Airways flying the Martin 404. He eventually became a Check Pilot for the company. Later, Chriss was hired by People’s Express Airline, which eventually merged with Continental Airlines. Chriss retired from Continental as a DC-10 Captain in 2002, after logging over 35,000 flight hours.

Senior Staff

Brian Vanderwel

ATP; CSA Chief Flight Instructor

Wayne Grant

ATP; CSA Director of Flight Operations; retired American  Airlines  Captain

David Leahy

CSA Assistant Chief Flight Instructor

CSA Instructors

Tarik Alnaqeeb

Helen Ho

Matthew Broderick

Gavin Ryan

Clint Hirschi

Aaron Field

Cory Wirick

Christopher Johnson

Cody Yoakum

Parker Price

Dan Morgan

Jason Lambert

Jeff Jerman

Blake Sanborn

Roe McGrath

Amanda Daniel

Matt Tensfield

John Hubbell

Preston Mooney

Jeremy Langrock

Ryan Frost